Comiskey Park - Paperback Book
The Chicago White Sox opened Comiskey Park on July 1, 1910. Their owner, Charles Comiskey, wanted a new, modern, park made of steel and concrete to replace the old South Side Park. Comiskey Park was the home of the White Sox for the next 80 years, and over 72 million fans saw games there. This book recounts the history of the storied ballpark and the great events and ballplayers that made it famous. The Sox won all three World Series games played at Comiskey in 1917. In 1960, then owner Bill Veeck, one of the great innovators in the games history, installed the first exploding scoreboard in center field. Starting in 1969, Comiskey had a unique playing field for several years; artificial turf on the infield, and natural grass in the outfield. All-star players and fan favorites always made a trip to Comiskey worthwhile, and the Sox have fielded their share of Hall-of-Famers through the years, including Luke Appling, Nellie Fox, Eddie Collins, Luis Aparicio, and Carlton Fisk.
Dimensions: 0.4 x 6.5 x 9.1 inches
*member price, for regularly-priced merchandise only:
Please enter your membership number at checkout. To become a member, please visit our Membership site.
Proceeds from CAF’s tours, programs and retail shop support the educational mission to inspire people to discover why design matters.
We Also Recommend